The First DEVS Modeling and Simulation Ph.D. Dissertation Award

This award has been created in order to recognize and reward the best Ph.D. Thesis related to the DEVS Modeling and Simulation formalism.

The objective of the award is to promote all aspects of the DEVS formalism, to encourage the application of fundamental research to applied work in industry, and the work done both in larger research centers and in smaller laboratories. The purpose of this award is to stimulate and motivate young scientists by rewarding them, and to inform the DEVS community with excellent research.

A panel of academics and researchers will select one of the theses defended during the academic year to receive this award. The criteria considered by the jury to select the winners include the originality of the results, the originality of the field and the methods used, and the importance and impact of results.

The theses should be in English. If they're in a different language, the author should submit a 10-pages summary of the thesis and any related papers published (in English) to make easier the judging of the ideas by people in different parts of the world.

The theses must to have been defended between September 2010 and September 2011.

The awards ceremony will take place during the Symposium On Theory of Modeling and Simulation (formerly known as the DEVS Integrative M&S Symposium), TMS'12.

Bernard P. Zeigler will chair the Awards committee.

In 2011, the Jury will be integrated by:

  • Bernard P. Zeigler (Honorary Chair and Founder), University of Arizona, USA
  • Claudia Frydman (Chair of the Board), LSIS, Marseille, France

Committee Members

  • Fernando Barros, Universidade da Coimbra, Portugal
  • Phil Hammonds,
  • Moonho Hwang, Dassault System, USA
  • Tag Gon Kim (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), KAIST, Korea
  • Ernesto Kofman, Universidad Nacional de Rosario, Argentina
  • Qi Liu, IBM, USA
  • Alexandre Muzy (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), Université de Corse, France
  • Hessam Sarjoughian (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), Arizona State University, USA
  • Mamadou Seck, TU Delft, Netherlands
  • Mamadou K. Traoré (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), Université Blaise Pascal, Clermont-Ferrand, France
  • Lin Uhrmacher, Universität Rostock, Germany
  • Hans Vangheluwe, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Gabriel A. Wainer (B.P. Zeigler Awardee), Carleton University, Canada

Deadlines & Submission

  • The Ph.D. Award committee accepts Ph.D. manuscripts submitted as a PDF file through the Submission Management System Submission Management System. (in the submission site, please select to submit the PhD dissertation to “DEVS Ph.D. Dissertation Award” section).
  • The deadline is January 15th 2012

Winners of the 2012 Award

  • Best PhD Award: Qi Liu (Carleton University). “Algorithms for Parallel Simulation of Large-Scale DEVS and Cell-DEVS Models”
  • Runner-up: Khaldoon Al-Zoubi (Carleton University). “Enhanced Distributed Simulation Interoperability and Algorithms Using Web Services”
devs_phd_award.txt · Last modified: 2012/09/06 09:59 by greg
CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki do yourself a favour and use a real browser - get firefox!! Recent changes RSS feed Valid XHTML 1.0