ICCBR 2019 Doctoral Consortium

Antonio A. Sánchez-Ruiz¹ and Michael W. Floyd²

¹ Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Madrid, Spain ² Knexus Research Corporation, Springfield, USA

Preface

This year marks the eleventh anniversary of the ICCBR Doctoral Consortium (DC). The DC was designed to nurture PhD candidates by providing them with opportunities to obtain feedback on their research, future work plans, and career objectives from senior case-based reasoning (CBR) researchers and practitioners. We are proud to carry on the tradition with a cohort of ten doctoral students from seven different countries.

PhD candidates who applied to the program submitted summaries of their doctoral research. In their research summaries, they detailed the problems they are addressing, outlined their proposed research plans, and described progress to date. Accepted applicants were paired with mentors who helped them to refine their research summaries in light of reviewer feedback. The updated research summaries, which appear in this volume, were then orally presented at the IC-CBR DC on September 8-9, 2019 in Otzenhausen, Germany.

This year's participants presented a broad array of ongoing CBR research. Deepika Verma discussed the use of CBR to improve the classification of physical activities from body-worn sensor data. Glenn Forbes studied the monitoring of health conditions from sensors in Smart Homes. Christian Zeyen presented his work on interactive assistance for scientific workflow modeling. Christopher L. Bartlett explained his research on using prototypes to classify novel cases in microarray analysis. Anbarasu Sekar discussed how to exploit relationships among cases and the user's feedback in conversational case-based recommender systems. Brian Schack presented three case base maintenance strategies beyond case deletion to improve the performance of CBR systems. Jèrôme Cerutti studied the problem of identifying and implementing actions to protect drinking water sources based on past experiences. Venkatsampath Raja Gogineni described the creation of autonomous explainable agents using case-based explanations, behavior adaptation, and casual understanding. Jakob Michael Schoenborn studied different types of explanations used in explainable AI and how to select the best one for a particular user. Finally, Diana Sofia Lora Ariza presented her work on dynamically adapting the difficulty of a game to improve the player's game experience.

We gratefully acknowledge support from the National Science Foundation and the Artificial Intelligence Journal, which helped to defray the cost of student participation in the DC. We also thank all of the students, mentors, and program committee members who worked so hard to make the DC a success.

Students and Mentors

Christopher L. Bartlett	State University of New York at Oswego, USA
Mirjam Minor	Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany
Jèrôme Cerutti	Laval University, Canada
Klaus-Dieter Althoff	University of Hildesheim / DFKI, Germany
Glenn Forbes	Robert Gordon University, UK
Barry Smyth	University College Dublin, Ireland
Diana Sofia Lora Ariza	Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Michael W. Floyd	Knexus Research Corporation, USA
Venkatsampath Raja Gogineni	Wright State University, USA
David W. Aha	Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Brian Schack	Indiana University, USA
Isabelle Bichindaritz	State University of New York at Oswego, USA
Jakob Michael Schoenborn	University of Hildesheim Germany
David B. Leake	Indiana University, USA
Anbarasu Sekar Jean Lieber	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India LORIA, France
Deepika Verma	NTNU, Norway
Anders Kofod-Petersen	NTNU, Norway
Christian Zeyen	University of Trier, Germany

Antonio A. Sánchez-Ruiz Universidad

University of Trier, Germany Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

Program Chairs

Antonio A. Sánchez-Ruiz	Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Michael W. Floyd	Knexus Research Corporation, USA

Program Committee

Agnar Aamodt	Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
David Aha	Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Klaus-Dieter Althoff	DFKI / University of Hildesheim, Germany
Isabelle Bichindaritz	State University of New York at Oswego, USA
Sarah Jane Delany	Dublin Institute of Technology, Ireland
Anders Kofod-Peterser	Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
David Leake	Indiana University, USA
Jean Lieber	LORIA INRIA Lorraine, France
Mirjam Minor	Goethe University, Germany
Stefania Montani	Universita Piemonte Orientale, Italy
Hector Munoz-Avila	Lehigh University, USA
Luigi Portinale	Universita Piemonte Orientale, Italy
Barry Smyth	University College Dublin, Ireland
Nirmalie Wiratunga	Robert Gordon University, UK